South West sweep the board at National Flock Competition

The Westcountry swept the board at the National Flock Competition kindly sponsored by Shearwell Data, with the results being announced at the AGM in Warwickshire. Judge Roy MacFarlane from the Lecropt Flock in Stirling Scotland, said that the standard had been really good throughout the country and it was very difficult to decide on the prize winners but the Champion & Reserve Flocks were at the top of the game.

Winning the Overall Title of Champion Flock was the Yarcombe Flock from Henry & Hilary Derryman and Sons from Honiton in Devon. This flock was established in 1970 and has always been very progressive with Henry extolling the virtues of recording and CT scanning. Commercial sheep production has always been at the heart of the flock but there is plenty of Yarcombe breeding in the pedigree flocks across the country. The Derryman Family also won the best ewe lambs, best ram lambs, best stock rams and reserve best breeding ewes.

Taking the Reserve spot was new President Adrian Rundle’s Treworthal Flock from Newquay in Cornwall. Adrian started in the breed when he was a teenager and has come back into it and is a familiar face on the show circuit both locally and nationally. Adrian also won the best breeding ewes.

Flock Competition Results:

Best Shearling Ewes.      John Harrison CROFTHEADS

Reserve.                          Kevin & Anna McCarthy BALLYCREELLY

Best Ewe lambs.             Henry Derryman & Sons YARCOMBE

Reserve.                          Ellie Alvis SWINBROOK

Best Ram lambs.              Henry Derryman & Sons YARCOMBE

Reserve.                          David & Vivien Miles ROTHERVALLEY

Best Breeding Ewes.        A.R. Rundle TREWORTHAL

Reserve.                          Henry Derryman & Sons YARCOMBE

Best Stock Rams.         Henry Derryman & Sons YARCOMBE

Reserve.                        A.R.Rundle TREWORTHAL

Junior Flock.

1st.  Amy Byford LAWSHALL

2nd. Hannah & Lucy Grindey TITHEBARN

3rd. Abigail Davey BRIDGE FARM

Novice Flock.

1st.  Tom Jones HACKETT

2nd.  Goldie & Forrest HODDOM

3rd.  Moffett & Horner BACKNSIDES

4th.  Caunter & Haynes SHEBBEAR

North Small Flock.

1st.    Goldie & Forrest HODDOM

2nd.   Moffett & Horner BACKNSIDES

3rd.   Chapman & Wadkins EPPLEBY

4th.  Todd & Shaw PORTPATRICK

South Small Flock.

1st.   Zac & Paula Blackmore ARCHMORE

2nd.   Tom Jones HACKETT

3rd.   Hannah Delaney WITTERSHAM

4th.   Hannah & Lucy Grindey TITHEBARN


1st.   Zac & Paula Blackmore ARCHMORE

2nd.  Allen & Vicky McFadden ASHLEY

3rd. Tom Jones HACKETT

4th. Goldie & Forrest HODDOM

Medium Flock.

1st.    John Harrison CROFTHEADS

2nd.  Ellie Alvis SWINBROOK

3rd. Geoff & Jean Boyles MILLFIELDS

4th.   Ali Tory SHAPWICK II

Large Flock.

1st Henry Derryman & Sons YARCOMBE

2nd. A.R Rundle TREWORTHAL

3rd. K & A McCarthy BALLYCREELLY

4th. Richard Horsman BOWERLAND

Best Cornish Flock.         A.R. Rundle TREWORTHAL

Best South East England.        David & Vivien Miles ROTHERVALLEY

Reserve.                                 Hannah Delaney WITTERSHAM

Champion Irish Flock.           K&A McCarthy BALLYCREELLY

Reserve.                                  Allen & Vicky McFadden ASHLEY

Best Scottish Flock.              Goldie & Forrest HODDOM

Reserve.                               Geoff Todd & Angela Shaw PORTPATRICK

Best Welsh Flock.               John Harrison CROFTHEADS

Joint runners up.                  Tom Jones HACKETT & Alison James CASTLEPILL

CHAMPION FLOCK.        Henry Derryman & Sons YARCOMBE

RESERVE.                      A.R. Rundle  TREWORTHAL

Share this post